Film Dump: Supernaturals, Adventurers, and Spies

Ever since I finished my paper, I’ve been trying to catch up on a lot of the films and TV series that I downloaded months ago. So far, I’ve only watched three films (because my addiction to The Sims 2 is taking over me), and I’m going to attempt to write my thoughts about them without spoiling the whole plot. Some very minor spoilers will still appear, though, so beware.


Contents:

  1. Insidious: Chapter 3
  2. The Secret Life of Walter Mitty
  3. Kingsman: The Secret Service

1. Insidious: Chapter 3 (2015)

Directed by: Leigh Whannell
Starring: Dermot Mulroney, Stefanie Scott, Angus Sampson
Length: 97 minutes
Rated: PG-13

3

Something you should know before I review this film: I’m not really fond of the horror genre, unless a lot of people convince me that a particular horror film is worth watching, and never in my life would I want to watch any horror film at the cinema because I’m a wuss. So how did I come to watch the third installment of the Insidious franchise in the theaters? I’ll get to that later.

Onto the film: honestly, I had my ears covered and my eyes squinted for the majority of the film because, like I said, I’m a wuss. But compared to the other horror films I’ve watched, this one is a bit inferior because it seems to rely on jumpscares to set its mood. The suspense works perfectly, though, and the characters that were supposed to scare the audience actually scared me, so A+ for that.

The film has some emotional scenes from time to time and it actually blends well to the story, oddly enough. The scenes near the end were too cheesy for me, though, but I guess it’s a good tactic to assure the audience that things have finally fallen into place and they can now watch with ease…only to give them another scare. (I’m not counting this as a spoiler because so many films have already done this and I swear, if you watch that part of the film you’d no doubt expect another scare, too.)

So story time: my sister and I were supposed to watch Jurassic World in the theater, but the tickets were selling out fast and by the time we were at the counter, they sold out. The only other films that the cinema was showing were San Andreas and Insidious 3 and we felt that it would be a waste if we didn’t watch anything (because the cinema was about 40 minutes away from our house) so we picked the latter. Which, I now realize, is a wrong decision, especially if you have your own bedroom.

Rating: 2.5/5
(back to top)

2. The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (2013)

Directed by: Ben Stiller
Starring: Ben Stiller, Kristen Wiig, Sean Penn
Length: 114 minutes
Rated: PG

2

When I first watched the trailer of The Secret Life of Walter Mitty back in summer 2013, I knew that it would be a beautiful film; I was not disappointed when I decided to watch it in December of the same year. About two years later (which is today), I decided to watch it again and it somehow just got better. I don’t know how, but it did.

I’ve seen a lot of people both online and in real life who thought that this film just isn’t their cup of tea and I respect that, but I’ll have to disagree. They thought that the plot is too weak because its primary conflict (which is the missing negative) could have been solved had Walter been more attentive/observant of his surroundings; he wouldn’t have had to go through a lengthy journey and make his work difficult.

But let’s look at the film in another perspective: what if the primary conflict isn’t the negative, but Walter himself? What if the problem is that he thinks more than he acts? As seen in the film, he has become too engrossed in his own imagination that it’s starting to affect his work (with his colleagues making fun of him for always looking like a statue) and the way he lives. If, in an alternate universe, he does find the negative easily, he would continue to be the passive man that he is and keep living living life through mere imaginations. How would this solve the conflict which, again, is Walter living in his own little world?

What makes this film beautiful is its perfect presentation of Walter’s character development that happens throughout the film, and I think this is what people seem to overlook. I’d like to think that him not finding the negative immediately is a “blessing in disguise” because it forces him to finally get out of his shell and actually experience life. After all, he works at a magazine company called LIFE.

Bonus: the cinematography is one of the best that I’ve ever seen and the soundtrack is just as amazing.

Rating: 4/5
(back to top)

3. Kingsman: The Secret Service (2015)

Directed by: Matthew Vaughn
Starring: Colin Firth, Taron Egerton, Samuel L. Jackson
Length: 129 minutes
Rated: R

1

I’m one of those people who only know Colin Firth for his roles in rom-coms and The King’s Speech, so I was kind of surprised when I saw him in a trailer for a spy movie. I’m even more surprised how effortlessly badass his character is in this film and I now see him in a different light because of this.

Kingsman: The Secret Service is an incredibly fun film that I would want to watch over and over again. At first, I thought it dragged a little, but after it got to the training scene I found myself enjoying it and laughing at the character’s lines. Samuel L. Jackson’s character, Valentine, is just so hilarious that I can’t bring myself to hate his character even though he’s the antagonist in the film. The same goes for Gazelle (played by Sofia Boutella), with her clever way of using her prosthetic legs as weapons.

The most hyped scene is probably the church scene, which also has become my favorite part in the whole film. Who would have thought that Colin Firth could pull of something as intense as that? I literally had an adrenaline rush while watching that part. The background music, the camera angles, and the amount of gore is just so perfect that I replayed the scene twice.

(Also, I thought this film was going to have some sort of love line between Eggsy and Roxy, but thank goodness there wasn’t because it would have been too cliché.)

Rating: 4/5
(back to top)

Leave a Reply

