Saunters, Succulents, & Mythical Stories

For today’s attempt at being pseudo-productive, I decided to go the extra mile and actually get out of the house. Yes, I actually, truly got out of my natural habitat and it was great. Also, I became a gardener (sort of) for a day and I took a first step in facing one of my biggest fears: commitment.

This will all probably make sense if I explain it and, surprise, that’s exactly what I’m about to do.

Part I: Saunters

I’ve known this word for about two hours now and I’m still amused by it. Saunters. It’s such an elegant term for something that’s so simple—if you’re wondering, it just means walking. That’s literally it.

My sister and I started our day with an early morning saunter (that is, if you still consider 7 o’clock an early morning) inside the university campus mainly because:

  1. she’s doing this 30 day fitness challenge that I didn’t even know she was doing; and
  2. I love the campus during semester breaks.

Primarily because of its emptiness whenever vacation season arrives. I don’t know, okay, maybe it’s because an image of hundreds of students walking around the campus reminds me of sleepless nights and countless deadlines. Also, their negative energy brought by stress “resonates” across the whole campus and, in turn, it’s stressing me out.

Anyway, while my sister walked around the entire park, I waited for her by the steps in front of the auditorium nearby. After all, I was there for the fresh air and not for the sweat.

[Hillary Clinton voice] I’m just chillin’.
I kept thinking about how beautiful our campus is—I know, my campus pride is overflowing here—and how it pains me that the general public only praises the Diliman campus. Look, UPD is incredible and I would definitely go back there if I were given the chance, but there’s also us, UPLB, home to numerous national scientists and acclaimed musicians/filmmakers. Our campus is just as great as theirs and yet the public always sees us a UPLB lang (basically, they deem our campus inferior to Diliman).

I hope they’ll change their perception someday because, my God, the beauty of this campus deserves more attention than it gets.

Part II: Succulents

During the afternoon, my sister decided to become pseudo-productiveTM herself and re-potted a bunch of plants that she bought late last year. These plants are called succulents because of their thickness—according to the internet, they’re also called fat plants.

This is a prickly pear and it’s edible. It’s also very, very prickly.

This was the part where I realized just how tita my sister has become at such a young age. A self-proclaimed cat lady, owner of four well-tended plants (one of them named Hernando), and she treats all of them like her children. Very tita, indeed. Kidding.

I was also helping her with re-planting, but only on the sidelines. While she was gardening, I was trying out this new line of work called supportive gardening: I give a good amount of moral support and, occasionally, unnecessary critical remarks as my sister takes care of her plants. It’s great for people trying to be pseudo-productive.

One of these plants is apparently a Sedum pachyphyllum. Hernando is the one on the small white pot on the right.

To be honest, I don’t know shit about plants. Aside from the scientific names of rice and the sensitive plant, the only other plant I know that makes me feel smart is Rhoeo spathacea, and it’s probably the most basic plant that every Biology major knows.

So yeah, I’ll probably call my sister’s plant Hernando forever, without ever knowing what that plant actually is.

Part III: Mythical Stories

As if I wasn’t feeling productive enough when I left the house, I decided to enroll myself in an online course at Cousera, because why not, right? Wrong. I shouldn’t have done it. Help me.

See, one of my greatest fears in life is commitment. I can’t count the amount of opportunities for a learning experience that I had to let go because I was afraid of committing myself to them.

I feel like this stemmed from the fact that I can’t push myself to continue doing something for a long period of time (i.e. starting a project with vigor, and then as the months pass, I get bored and move on to a new project). Ever since I became aware of this, I never really try to/do/join something without having a pep talk with myself about committing to the whole thing.

But it seems like Getting Out Of My Comfort Zone is my theme for 2016, so I thought I should give this certain online course a try. And so, I’m enrolled in a Greek Mythology class that will last from June 13th to August 28th.

I love Greek myth; it’s such a nice topic to explore, especially in creative writing, so let’s see how this whole thing goes.


Also, you might be wondering, “So where’s the Mythical Stories in this part?”

Honestly, none. I just wanted a term related to Greek myth that starts with an ‘S’ so I can form an alliteration in the title. I know, I’m a disappointment.

4 thoughts on “Saunters, Succulents, & Mythical Stories

  1. Wow. Now I realise that my fear (fault) is the same. Commitment.
    I couldn’t help smiling when the “pseudo-productive” appeared.
    But what “tita” means?
    Honestly, I see myself in this post – and Greek Mythology just proved it xD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for taking the time to read this blog post! It’s nice to hear that I’m not the only person who’s afraid of commitments. Haha!

      About the term “tita”: it means “aunt” here in my country, and basically you’re considered a “tita” if you possess the characteristics of a stereotypical aunt at a young age, like being more fond of gardening than socializing. It’s a ridiculous stereotype, to be honest. LOL I hope my explanation made sense.

      Like

Leave a Reply

